Browse Books by Year

Current List In Progress

Click here to see all the titles.

Historical Fiction

The Lie Tree

Author Information
Author's Last Name: 
Hardinge
Author's First Name: 
Frances
Publisher: 
Abrams
Publication Month: 
April
Publication Date: 
2016
2017 Nomination (not yet selected): 
Fourteen year old Faith has an insatiable desire to learn about the natural world but is stifled under the expectations and mores of Victorian England. When her scientist father dies, Faith suspects he has been murdered because of secret knowledge of a tree that flourishes on lies and she determines to find her father's killer and the tree. Told in vivid historical detail and heart stopping prose.

*CLOUD AND WALLFISH

Author Information
Author's Last Name: 
Nesbet
Author's First Name: 
Anne
Publisher: 
Candlewick
Publication Month: 
October
Publication Date: 
2016
2017 Nomination (not yet selected): 

 As soon as Noah is picked up by both of his parents, he knows something weird is going on. Within the next few hours, his parents tell him they're moving to Berlin, and by the way, his name is now Jonah, not Noah. Won't that be fun? However, it's 1989, and going to East Germany has a lot of rules, as Noah/Jonah quickly learns. Each chapter ends with a "secret file" that adds to the intrigue, while also informing the reader of facts they may not know in a clever way. The reader remains in the dark as long as Jonah does which makes this a real page-turner. (Anonymous)

*ASHES (THE SEEDS OF AMERICA TRILOGY)

Author Information
Author's Last Name: 
Anderson
Author's First Name: 
Laurie Halse
Publisher: 
Simon & Schuster (Atheneum)
Publication Month: 
October
Publication Date: 
10/4/2016
2017 Nomination (not yet selected): 

This long anticipated conclusion to Anderson's Seeds of America trilogy was worth the wait. Runaway slave Isabel continues her journey to find her younger sister, whom she believes was sold to a slave master in the South. As pivotal Revolutionary War battles rage around them, and bounty hunters search for runaways she makes her way through Virginia. The tension is high and Isabel's steadfast yearning for family and freedom has never been stronger. Moreso than in the first two novels, Anderson drives home the realities of slave life and the moral dilemma of a young nation fighting for freedom while oppressing an entire race of people. And tons of local history to boot! A compelling conclusion to a masterful trilogy. Ten to Fourteen. - Alicia Blowers

THE STEEP AND THORNY WAY

Cover image of The Steep and Thorny Way
Author Information
Author's Last Name: 
Winters
Author's First Name: 
Cat
Publisher: 
Abrams
Publication Date: 
2016
2017 Nomination (not yet selected): 

In 1920s Oregon, eugenics is legal, mixed-race marriage is not. Gay men are an abomination and the KKK is on the rise. Told in the vein of Hamlet, Cat Winters creates a fast-paced narrative that drags the reader into this horrific period of time in Oregon where only the ghost knows the truth and the main characters' lives hang in the balance. This story reminds readers of how racist and homophobic our past truly was and that we used eugenics before Hitler did. Fourteen and up. Ruth Compton

OUTRUN THE MOON

Author Information
Author's Last Name: 
Lee
Author's First Name: 
Stacey
Publisher: 
Penguin (Putnam)
Publication Date: 
2016
2017 Nomination (not yet selected): 

Chinese American teen, Mercy Wong lives in San Francisco’s Chinatown in 1906. She dreams of getting an education at an elite girl’s boarding school, St. Clare’s. Her ambition, intelligence, and determination get her there, despite her heritage and family expectations. She faces discrimination and resistance from fellow students but when the now infamous earthquake of 1906 hits San Francisco destroying the school and much of the city, Mercy and the St. Clare’s girls must work together to survive this tragedy. Strong female characters and clever dialogue abound in this well-developed historical fiction novel. Fourteen and Up. K. Troch

THE PASSION OF DOLSSA [AUDIOBOOK]

The cover of The Passion of Dolssa
Author Information
Author's Last Name: 
Berry
Author's First Name: 
Julie
Narrator's First Name: 
Jayne
Narrator's Last Name: 
Entwistle
Publisher: 
Penguin (Listening Library/Random House)
Publication Date: 
2016
2017 Nomination (not yet selected): 

Botille, a tavern girl finds Dolssa lying almost dead by the side of the river. From there, their lives become intertwined in this evocative story of love, faith/heresy, and friendship during medieval France. The three narrators add additional depth by placing listeners right in the middle of France where faith based on fear runs rampant and destroys people's lives. Ruth Compton. Audiobook. 14+

SOME KIND OF COURAGE [AUDIOBOOK]

Author Information
Author's Last Name: 
Gemeinhart
Author's First Name: 
Dan
Narrator's First Name: 
Andrew
Narrator's Last Name: 
Eiden
Publisher: 
Scholastic Audio
Publication Date: 
2016
2017 Nomination (not yet selected): 

A co-worker described this as the Revenant for kids. Joseph Johnson endures all sorts of trials and adventures after the loos of his family. The final blow is the underhanded sale of his horse, Sarah, by an unscrupulous caregiver. Joseph sets out to get Sarah back through the Northwest wilderness. Along the way he encounters those who would help and hinder. The narrator gives voice to this young man on his quest. This would be a great car trip book for tweens. Jenny Carroll. (10 to 14)

GIRL IN THE BLUE COAT

Author Information
Author's Last Name: 
Hesse
Author's First Name: 
Monica
Publisher: 
Little, Brown
Publication Date: 
2016
2017 Nomination (not yet selected): 

Dutch teen Hanneke works as a black market delivery girl in Amsterdam, 1943. During one of her routine stops, she is asked by one of her customers to find a missing Jewish teenager who disappeared from her hiding place. Hanneke agrees to help locate the missing teen and enlists the help of a local resistance group. She balances her determination to find the missing teen, her grief over her deceased boyfriend, the lies she tells her family, doing what is right despite the dangers,Nazi brutality, and simply surviving in wartime. An excellent choice for those interested in World War II, European history and/or mysteries. K. Troch. 14 and up.

WHEN MISCHIEF CAME TO TOWN

Author Information
Author's Last Name: 
Nannestad
Author's First Name: 
Katrina
Publisher: 
HMH (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Publication Date: 
2016
2017 Nomination (not yet selected): 

After the death of her beloved mother, lively Inge Marie moves from Copenhagen to the remote island of Bornholm to live with her stern grandmother. Among other zany experiences, Inge Marie’s antics lead to a turkey in her bed and to a parade of cats following her fish scented body around town after she napped in the fish smoke house. Her exuberance brings new life and joy to her grandmother and to the island residents. This fun book, set in Denmark in 1911, gently deals with loss, homelessness, and small community life in a child-friendly way. 7-10. Lisa Cosgrove-Davies

THE SMELL OF OTHER PEOPLE'S HOUSES [AUDIOBOOK]

Author Information
Author's Last Name: 
Hitchcock
Author's First Name: 
Bonnie-Sue
Narrator's First Name: 
Jorjeana
Narrator's Last Name: 
Marie, Erin Tripp, Karissa Vacker, Robbie Daymond
Publisher: 
Penguin (Listening Library/Random House)
Publication Month: 
February
Publication Date: 
2016
2017 Nomination (not yet selected): 

Rural Alaska in 1970 isn't the most uplifting place to spend your teenage years. Ruth hides a secret she can't keep for much longer, and even a cold stroke of luck may not be enough to save Dora. Alyce dreams of dancing somewhere other than on the familiar decks of her family's fishing boat, while Hank, headed for safety, stumbles into serious danger. These four teenagers, voiced quietly and alternatingly by an array of convincing narrators, find their lives interwoven as each abandons the familiar in search of secure passage into adulthood. ~ Kit Ballenger

Syndicate content